Skip to Page Content

Akron SHRM Committees

    One of the most rewarding ways to make connections and support the human resources profession is through involvement in Akron SHRM’s committees. Our committees offer a wide range of volunteer and leadership opportunities. Feel free to contact a committee chairperson to see how you can become involved in your chapter!

    College Relations

    Akron SHRM provides leadership to future human resource professionals by supporting local student chapters of SHRM and offering annual scholarships for those seeking higher education in the field.

    Chairperson: Erin Makarius, Ph.D
    makarius@uakron.edu


    Certification 

    Akron SHRM's Certification Committee seeks to provide encouragement and information relating to human resources related certifications and higher education.

    Chairperson: Doug Rogers
    drogers@hqrecruiters.com


    Governmental Affairs 

    The Governmental Affairs Committee (GAC) provides members information and events surrounding current legislation and educates members about making their voices heard.

    Karen Adinolfi Esq.

    kadinolfi@ralaw.com 


    Diversity

    Akron SHRM’s Diversity Committee is designed to promote diversity and inclusion through activities and education; spearhead efforts to diversify the chapter’s leadership and membership; and publicize quality diversity programs in the local community.

    Chairperson: Marianne Senvisky, SHRM-CP, CESP 

    marianne@pathfinderjobs.org


    Hospitality

    Akron SHRM’s Hospitality Committee welcomes members and guests to all chapter functions. This committee also coordinates registration and payment activities and 50/50 foundation raffles.

    Co-Chairperson: Kathy Menditto, SHRM-CP
    kathy.menditto@outlook.com

     

    Co-Chairperson: Stacey Corbin
    SCorbin@medicmgmt.com 


    Membership

    Akron SHRM’s Membership Committee coordinates all membership related activities and maintains our chapter roster.

    Chairperson: Tamara Williams
    williamst@firstenergycorp.com

     

    Co-Chairperson: Tammy Mueller, SPHR, CPP

    tammy.mueller@willory.com


    Communications

    Akron SHRM’s Public Relations Committee seeks to publicize Akron SHRM’s meetings, events as well as accomplishments of our members in the local media.

    Chairperson: Olivia Gallo, SHRM-CP
    olivia@thegallogroup.com 


    Programming

    Akron SHRM’s Programming Committee coordinates all speakers and facility arrangements for the chapter’s meetings and events.  

    Chairperson: Chadwick Klein, SHRM-SCP
    chadwick.klein@gmail.com 


    Foundation & Sponsorship

    Akron SHRM’s Sponsorship Committee offers human resources related vendors the opportunity to share products and services with our members.

    Chairperson: Kristen Babbin , Kristen.babbin@corporate-ladder.com

    Akron SHRM’s Foundation Committee educates, promotes, and leads chapter fundraising activities focused on supporting the SHRM Foundation.  Through tax-deductible donations from corporations, organizations, and individual HR professionals, the SHRM Foundation funds research, publications and education that has a direct and practical impact in advancing the Human Resources profession and enhancing the effectiveness of HR professionals.

    Chairperson: Melissa Agner, SHRM-SCP

    magner@stanhywet.org


    Workforce Readiness

    Akron SHRM’s Workforce Readiness Committee strives to establish a positive presence for Akron SHRM in the education of the future workforce and in the local community.

    Workforce Readiness Chair: Scott C. Bible, BS, MA
    scb3@uakron.edu


    Social and Community Service

    The community service chair is responsible for extending a hand to the community on service projects or social events both inside and outside the HR profession. Akron SHRM values the benefit of giving back to the community in the form of service and volunteerism.

    Social and Community Service Chair: Lisa Mascellino

    lisa.m.mascellino@gmail.com